Anna Maria city election to come after Election Day

Anna Maria voters on Nov. 6 had no city election on the ballot.

The two candidates who qualified for the two seats up for election on the commission — incumbent Commissioner Chuck Webb and newcomer Nancy Yetter — were unopposed and automatically elected.

Mayor Mike Selby declined to seek a second term and no one sought to fill his seat — which has resulted in an Anna Maria election Nov. 15 at the commission’s organizational meeting.

While there remains two seats to be determined — mayor and commissioner — the city commissioners will vote on  behalf of the electorate.

According to the city charter, once the new commissioners are sworn, they will elect a commission chair, who becomes the vice mayor and serves in the absence of the mayor. Without a duly elected mayor, the chairperson automatically becomes the mayor, which, in turn, creates a vacancy on the commission.

With the commission now down to four members, the charter calls for the appointment by the commission of a qualified candidate from the electorate to serve the remainder of the term vacated by the newly elected commission chair-mayor.

The commission asked for candidates from the electorate to apply by noon Oct. 31 at city hall, and Tom Aposporos, Gene Aubry and Carl Pearman stepped forward.

Sandy Rich had applied, but as of deadline, she had sent an email withdrawing.

Of the three, one will be nominated and seconded by a commissioner, and then voted on by the commission.

Tom Aposporos

Aposporos was chair of the charter review committee in 2002 and 2007, and was appointed commissioner in early 2003. His term ended in November 2003.

He is president of the Longboat Key/Lido Key/St. Armands Circle chamber of commerce, but plans to resign by December.

He is a licensed real estate agent, operates his own real estate company and serves as adviser to the Anna Maria Charter Review Committee.

Aposporos and his family moved to Anna Maria in 1997 and he is a full-time resident of the city.

He also is a former mayor of Poughkeepsie, New York.

Aposporos wants to maintain the quality of the city’s business and residential district and ensure harmony is maintained.

“My life experience has taught me we can accomplish most anything if we listen to each other and engage in non-personal and constructive debate on all issues. I will have succeeded as a commissioner in a significant way if I encourage others to become part of our government by my example.”

Gene Aubry

Gene Aubry is a former commissioner who won his seat in a September 2010 recall election against then-Commissioner Harry Stoltzfus. He served the what would have remained of Stoltzfus’ term, 14 months.

Aubry is an architect who graduated from the University of Houston in 1959 and has received numerous awards for his designs.

He often volunteers his time to draw renditions of landscaping and parking plans for the city.

Aubry moved to Anna Maria from Galveston, Texas, in the early 2000s.

“If I’m appointed as a commissioner, I’ll conduct myself the same way I did before. The commission is there to serve the pubic and visitors.

“I want everyone who lives here to have a wonderful city, I’m open to ideas, and always willing to devote my skills to helping the staff and commission,” he said.

He believes in the old Florida atmosphere of Anna Maria and wants that flavor retained.


Carl Pearman

Carl Pearman is a retired medical doctor from Missouri who specialized in obstetrics and gynecology. He still does volunteer medical work at the Senior Friendship Center in Sarasota.

He and wife Irene moved to Anna Maria in 1999.

Dr. Pearman has served on the capital improvements advisory committee, the code enforcement board and the planning and zoning board.

He says he believes in carefully controlled growth and change, and is conservative in his view of Anna Maria. As commissioner, he would maintain the quiet, residential community of Anna Maria.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *