Sports – 03-13-2013

KRC golf rounds top week’s action, horseshoes, too


Along with regular weekly golf action at the Key Royale Club in Holmes Beach, the men’s senior club championship and men’s handicap club championship matches are taking place.

The men’s handicap club championship moved this past week into the third round. John Cassese, Dale Hudson, Vince Mercadante and Mike Selby advanced to the fourth round with match-play victories.

In senior men’s handicap match-play action, Vince Mercadante, Ron Robinson, Gino DiClemente and Ken Rickett all advanced into the fourth round.

Regular golf action ended March 7 with the members teaming up in a nine-hole, two-best-balls-of-foursome match. The team of Joyce Brown, Jerry Brown, Sue Little and Bill Melvin combined on a 5-under-par 27. One shot back in second place were Penny Auch, Nel Bergstrom, Carl Voyles and Earl Huntzinger.

The men played an 18-hole, two-best-balls-of-foursome match March 6. The team of Dave Kruger, Neal Hammer, Carl Voyles and Bob Elliott combined on a 190-under-par 109 to seize a seven-shot victory. The team of Bill Gallagher, Dan Hayes and the Proxy brothers were alone in second at 116, while Al Kaiser, Wade Ladue and Jim Helgeson finished up at 119 for third place.

The Key Royale women took the course March 5 for a nine-hole, individual-low-gross match. Jen Holmes and Helen Pollack took first place in Flight A with 8-over-par 40. Sue Chrisiansen took first place in Flight B with a 43, while Sue Wheeler’s 46 and Markie Ksiazek’s 49 earned them first place in Flights C and D respectively.

Pollack and Marcia Helgeson took low-net honors in Flight A, each with 4-under-par 28. Tootie Wagner and Jean Holmes were a shot back in second, while Judy Christensen was alone in third with a 2-under-par 30.

Sue Christensen grabbed first place in Flight B with a 5-under-par 27, two shots ahead of second-place finisher Joyce Brown. Margrit Layh carded a 2-under-par 30 to finish in third place.

Sue Wheeler’s 3-under-par 29 gave her first place in Flight C by one stroke over Wila Barkley. Marty Clark and Kathy Porter tied for third place at even par.

Ksiazek’s 5-unde- par 27 was good for first place in Flight D. Sharon Conlon was alone in second with a 3-under-par 29 and Judy Hanson, Margaret Schuler and Marcia O’Brien tied for third, all at 1-under-par 31.

The men played a nine-hole, modified-Stableford or quota points match March 5. Jim Shepard, Ed Dailey, John Holcomb, Mike Ross and Gary Risner all finished in first place at plus 4. The team of Gary Alvord, Gary Risner, Bill Eichhorn and Gerry Schwartzbaugh won the team competition at plus 4.

The men played a nine-hole, best-balls-of-foursome match March 4. Dick Eichhorn and Bill Eichhorn, bolstered by the Proxy brothers, combined on a 12-under-par 20 to take first place.

The team of Pete Weir, Dave Kruger and Barry Anderson were one shot back in second place, while John Sagert, Bob Landgren, Art Hibbs and Al Kaiser were alone in third at 9-under-par 23.

The men played an 18-hole, individual-low-net golf match March 3. Bob Elliott grabbed first place with a 1-under-par 63. Dale Hudson was alone in second place with an even-par 64, while Carl Voyles and Vince Mercadante tied for third place at 1-over-par 65.


Horseshoe matches

Five teams advanced to the knockout round during March 9 horseshoe action at the Anna Maria City Hall horseshoe pits. Tom Anderton and Kim Kleiner defeated Bob Palmer and Leo Hutton 21-13 in the first match, while Hank Huyghe and Dom Livedoti eased past Gene Bobeldyk and Ron Pepka 21-11 in the second match. The second round got started with Huyghe-Livedoti edging Sam Samuels 21-19 to advance to the finals. In the finals, Huyghe-Livedoti defeated Anderton-Kleiner 21-9.

Only two teams advanced from pool play with the required 3-0 record during March 6 horseshoe action. Huyghe and Art Kingstad defeated Bob Mason and Norm Good 23-15 to earn bragging rights for the day.

Play gets under way at 9 a.m. every Wednesday and Saturday at the Anna Maria City Hall pits. Warmups begin at 8:45 a.m. followed by random team selection.

There is no charge to play and everyone is welcome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *