Pirates and all, set clocks back Nov. 3

Daylight saving time ends at 2 a.m. Sunday, Nov. 3, just as the clock is winding down on the Anna Maria Island Privateers inaugural pirate invasion — a three-day affair that starts Nov. 1.

For most of the United States, clocks will turn back an hour for added sleep, more chores, longer playtime, although here, it will likely be the last “Hazah” for late-night crews.

Daylight saving time was established to reduce energy use by extending daylight hours in the spring.

An energy bill signed into law in August 2005 changed the longstanding months for time changes from April and October to March and November, adding to the time saving by four weeks.

Benjamin Franklin gets the credit for the concept of daylight saving time, suggesting in a French journal that Parisians could save thousands of francs by getting an earlier start on their days in the summer. The savings then came from using fewer candles.

The United States instituted daylight saving time in 1918 to save energy during World War I, but the concept proved unpopular and was repealed in 1919.

Daylight saving time again was tried from 1941 to 1945 to conserve energy during World War II, and, following the war, many states adopted summer time changes. It was popular for farmers wanting to get a jump on their work in the mornings.

In 1966, Congress established a national daylight saving time program with the Uniform Time Act.

A year-round daylight saving time was tried in 1974 to respond to the oil crisis of those days. However, the trial was controversial because children had to walk to school in the dark that winter.

A 1986 federal law officially set daylight saving time to begin on the first Sunday in April and end on the last Sunday in October, but that changed with the U.S. Energy Policy Act of 2005.

DST now starts the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.

For calendar planners, DST resumes at 2 a.m. Sunday, March 9.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *