Looking Back: Islanders cast ballots, elect officers

Anna Maria Island voters went to the polls Nov. 5, 2013, and it was one of the first election days in recent years with contested local races in each of the island cities.

In Holmes Beach, five candidates ran for three seats on the city commission. Voters re-elected Pat Morton, David Zaccagnino and Jean Peelen. First-time candidates Carol Soustek and C. Melissa Williams placed fourth and fifth.

In Anna Maria, four candidates ran for three seats. Voters returned Dale Woodland and Doug Copeland to the dais and also elected Carol Carter. First-time candidate Michael Jawarski placed fourth.

Voters in Anna Maria also amended the city charter.

In Bradenton Beach, voters elected a new mayor — former commissioner Bill Shearon, who defeated incumbent John Shaughnessy.

In a Ward 3 race, voters elected Janie Robertson to the commission over incumbent Ric Gatehouse. Jack Clarke ran unchallenged for the Ward 1 seat held by Gay Breuler, who chose not to seek re-election.

The new year will bring another round of municipal elections, as well as county, state and federal elections.

More from The Islander

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *