Trio of Anna Maria officials says ‘maybe’

The three Anna Maria elected officials whose terms expire in November have one thing in common when it comes to running for office again.

Mayor SueLynn and Commissioners Chuck Webb and Nancy Yetter said they were definitely a “maybe” when asked if they plan to seek re-election.

SueLynn said she would make her decision “quickly and before the qualifying period begins.” Webb and Yetter also said they still are considering a run.

Webb said he was “definitely a maybe” to seek a fifth term on the commission.

If SueLynn runs, it would be her first election since being appointed mayor in 2012. She also was mayor from 2002-06.

In 2012, she was elected to a commission seat. Because no one ran for mayor that year to replace Mayor Mike Selby, who declined to seek a second term, the commission followed city charter procedures to determine a mayor.

In the absence of a mayor, the charter puts the commission chair in the mayor’s seat. SueLynn, was elected chair at the commission’s 2012 organizational meeting, and thus rose to mayor.

Incumbents and others considering a run for office don’t have long to decide.

The Anna Maria qualifying period from noon June 9 to noon June 20 is just under six months from the November election.

Potential candidates must first pick up a qualifying packet, either from city clerk Diane Percycoe at city hall, 10005 Gulf Drive, or at the Manatee County Supervisor of Elections office, 600 301 Blvd., No. 108, Bradenton.

A form naming a treasurer and a campaign bank fund must first be filed with Percycoe or the SOE. Candidates then have 10 days to complete a statement of candidacy form.

After filing the required forms, Anna Maria candidates must obtain the signatures of 10 registered voters in the city, and pay a filing fee of $48 to run for a commission seat or $96 to seek the mayor’s office.

A candidate may have the filing fee waived if he or she files an “undue burden oath” with Percycoe.

Other Anna Maria requirements are to be a U.S. citizen and a city resident for at least two years prior to qualifying.

Paying the candidate fee and filing the 10 signatures to be on the Nov. 4 ballot is done before an election qualifying officer, at the SOE office.

Anna Maria elections are nonpartisan. Commissioners are paid $4,800 annually, while the mayor earns $9,600 per annum.

Commissioners have agreed to study a proposal from Commissioner Dale Woodland to increase the mayor’s salary.

For a salary increase to apply to the mayor elected in November, commission approval is needed prior to the election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *