Sports – 06-11-2014

Center crowns 3 divisions of youth basketball champs


The youth basketball league at the Anna Maria Island Community Center came to a close June 6 with championship games in three divisions. The higher seeded team easily “held serve” in the 8-10 and 14-17 divisions, but the No. 2 seed, BridgeTender Inn, pulled off an upset against top-seeded Eat Here in a back-and-forth battle in the 11-13 division championship.

The early going saw Eat Here nursing a 12-11 lead, but then BridgeTender’s Michael Latimer got hot, leading an 11-2 scoring run, starting with a baseline jumper followed by a steal and a layup.

Eat Here’s Leo Rose came back with a layup, but Latimer responded with a 3-pointer, another steal and a layup and a baseline jumper off of a good pass from Jasmine Walsh for a 22-14 lead with just over 3 minutes remaining in the first half.

Eat Here’s Andrew Proctor responded with a steal and a layup, followed by two steals and a pair of layins from Rose to tie the game at 22 all.

Latimer went coast-to-coast to give BridgeTender Inn a 24-22 lead, but an offensive rebound put back by Proctor tied the score at 24-24 as the half came to a close.

The second half saw the teams trade baskets, remaining close until 2:52 minutes remained to play and Latimer took over. A baseline jumper gave BridgeTender Inn a 33-30 lead, but a pair of steals by Latimer that resulted in a layup and a long 2-pointer gave BridgeTender Inn a 37-30 lead with 1:34 left to play.

A pair of free throws by Leo Tilelli extended the BridgeTender Inn lead to 39-30 and a three-pointer at the buzzer by Latimer gave BridgeTender a 42-30 victory and the championship trophy.

Latimer finished with 32 points, 12 rebounds and five steals to lead the way for BridgeTender Inn. Leo Tilelli added 4 points and five rebounds, while Daniel Sentman and Jasmine Walsh finished with 2 points each in the victory. Other members of the team are Jack Groves, Abby Clark, Anna Pears and Morgan Horesh.

Rose led Eat Here with 12 points and eight rebounds, while Matt Manger finished with 10 points and six rebounds. Proctor also had a strong game for Eat Here, finishing with 8 points and 10 rebounds, while Isabel Hambrig’s 2 points and Noah Heskin’s point completed the Eat Here loss.

Beach Bums won the 8-10 division playoff with a 17-4 victory over Island Real Estate behind 10 points from Sean Rodriguez and 3 points from David Daigle. Jack Proctor and Nick Yatros completed the scoring for Beach Bums with 2 points each in the victory. Other members of Beach Bums are Chloe Fulton, Evan Talucci, Michael Pears and Will Batey.

Shawn Balvin led Island Real Estate in the loss with 4 points.

Dips Ice Cream ended the Cinderella story of fifth-seed Heritage Paper Co. with a 75-51 victory in the 14-17 division championship matchup. Heritage advanced to the championship game by defeating fourth-seeded West Coast Air Conditioning May 31 and followed up with a 49-47 win over No. 1-seed Beach Bistro June 3.

Heritage Paper had no answer for Christian Hampton who lit up the center gym for 37 points, including six 3-pointers. Jake Parsons added 14 points for Dips, which also received 8 points each from Connor Field and Josh Ruckteshell. Edward Cullinan added 4 points and Jake Ross scored 2 to round out the Dips score. Other members of the champs are Andrew Ross and Lucan Heffernan.

Burke Hill led Heritage Paper with 19 points and 10 rebounds, while Sam Cuva added 12 points and 11 rebounds. Josh Parrish chipped in with 10 points and six rebounds for Heritage Paper, which also received 3 points each from Cameron Brauner, Cody Tsai and Mikey Ellsworth in the loss.


Center awards

The basketball season-ending awards were handed out June 2 at the center.

Sportsmanship winners are Shawn Balvin in the 8-10 division, Tuna McCracken in the 11-13 division and Burk Hill in the 14-17 division.

Will Batey is defensive MVP in the 8-10 division, while Brooke Caperelli holds the honor in the 11-13 division. Josh Ruckteshell is defensive MVP in the 14-17 division.

Fiona Leathem Turner is female MVP in the 8-10 division, while Caperelli is best female player in the 11-13 division.

Overall MVP for the 8-10 division is David Daigle while Michael Latimer holds the honor in the 11-13s and Christian Hampton is MVP in the 14-17 division.


Key Royale golf news

The men of the Key Royale Club took on the suddenly summer-like conditions for a few rounds of golf last week. On June 2, they got out for morning and late afternoon rounds.

The morning saw a nine-hole, low-net-of-foursome match. The team of Bob Dickinson, Omar Trolard, Hank Tremblay and Peter Thomassen combined on a 12-under-par 20 to match the score and finish in a tie with Fred Meyer, Charlie Knop, Matt Behan and Dan Hayes.

The afternooon modified-Stableford match saw Dick Grimme card a plus-4 to take first place in the individual category, while also helping his team of Jerry Landkammer, Jon Holcomb and Lex Halakan to the team title with a combined score of plus-1.

The clubwomen took the course June 3 for a nine-hole, individual-low-net match in two flights, with a side game of total team putts.

Penny Williams carded a 4-under-par 28 to earn a two-shot victory in Flight A over Helen Pollock and Joyce Brown, both at 2-under-par 30.

Janet Razze torched the course for a 6-under-par 26 to take first place in Flight B. Marilyn Manzer was alone in second place with a 4-under-par 28.

Christina Mason, Helen Pollock, Marilyn Manzer and Markie Ksiazek won the team putts contest with 65 putts.

The men were at it again June 5 for a nine-hole scramble. The team of Ron Vandeman, John Purcell, Tim Friesen and Dick Mills combined on a 6-under-par 26 — good enough for first place on the day.

One shot back in second place was the team of Ron Robinson, Quentin Talbert, Tom Nelson and Marty Jacobs, who finished at 5-under-par 27.

      Find more sports and photos online at


Horseshoe news

There was an invasion last week of walkers to the winner’s circle during horseshoe action at the Anna Maria City Hall horseshoe pits.

Sam Samuels did the trick during June 4 action, taking out Bob Heiger and Norm Good 26-8 in the finals to earn solo bragging rights for the day.

On June 7, Tim Sofran walked his way to the winner’s circle, defeating Steve Doyle and Hank Huyghe 24-12.

Play gets underway at 9 a.m. Wednesdays and Saturdays at the Anna Maria City Hall pits. Warmups begin at 8:45 a.m. followed by random team selection. There is no charge to play and everyone is welcome.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *