AMI celebrates Independence Day with parade, party, fireworks

Anna Maria Island shows its patriotic pride with two fireworks displays and a parade.

On July 3, The BeacHhouse Restaurant, 200 Gulf Drive N., Bradenton Beach, will hold its Fireworks Extravaganza.

Thousands of people will gather on the beach to the north and south of the restaurant to watch fireworks over the Gulf of Mexico.

The display will begin after nightfall.

Also, the restaurant will host a VIP party.

On July 4, the Sandbar Restaurant, 100 Spring Ave., Anna Maria, will host a fireworks display after nightfall.

Again, thousands will gather on the beach by the waterfront restaurant, which will host a VIP party.

In the morning July 4, the Anna Maria Island Privateers will present the annual Independence Day parade, which will travel from Coquina Beach in Bradenton Beach to the east end of Pine Avenue in Anna Maria.

The parade will begin at 10 a.m.

There is no charge for entry, but all participants should pre-register at and arrive at the beach by 9 a.m. Organizers expect more than 100 entries. Participants in the parade are reminded that walking is not allowed — only riding in vehicles, on bikes, scooters, carts, etc.

At about noon, after the parade, the Privateers will take the ship to host a community party at the Anna Maria Island Beach Cafe, 4000 Gulf Drive, Holmes Beach, where the nonprofit will present scholarship awards and the cafe provides live entertainment.

For more information about the Sandbar event, call the restaurant at 941-778-8709.

For more details about the BeacHhouse event, call the restaurant at 941-779-2222.

For more information about the AMIP parade or party, call Richard “Taz” Beattie at 239-321-2835.


Privateers name scholarship winners

Following the Anna Maria Island Privateers Independence Day parade, at about noon, the ship will head to the Anna Maria Island Beach Cafe at the Manatee Public Beach, 4000 Gulf Drive in Holmes Beach for a party and the award of scholarships.

Everyone is welcome.

Renewing scholarship winners are:

James Campbell, senior at USF in business; Hilary Hathaway, senior at UF in social work; Leanna Browning, senior at FSU in audiology; Alexander Chawi, senior at UCF in biology/medicine; Brandi Ricker, sention at UCF in business management; Ourania Lardas, senior at FGCU in environmental studies; Monica McDonough, junior at UCF in business; Jacob Kargauer, junior at FSU in math education; and Myles Johnson, senior at Georgetown in human science.

New to the AMIP scholarship program are:

Andrea Bieber, Manatee High School grad going to SCF for nursing; Chelsea Perez, MHS grad going to UCF in elementary education; Deanna Anneaud, Palmetto High School grad heading to FAMU for nursing, and Emily Mulrine, MHS grad going to SCF for elementary education.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *