Category Archives: 11-03-2010

Selby will take over in Anna Maria mayor’s office

Mike Selby scored a 509-426 unofficial victory for mayor of Anna Maria over challenger Sandy Mattick in the Nov. 2 general election, with a reported record 77.9 percent of the city’s 1.329 registered voters casting a ballot. A total of 363 absentee ballots, along with 30 early votes, were included in the unofficial tally. The […]

BB voters decide charter questions

Bradenton Beach voters faced a series of proposed changes to the city charter on the Nov. 2 ballot and gave a nod to them all. A commission-appointed charter review committee recommended the changes to the document earlier this year and the commission OKd the changes for voter consideration in August. Each proposed amendment — there […]

Vosburgh wins BB commission race

Bradenton Beach citizens didn’t return or check out any books at Tingley Memorial Library Nov. 2. Instead, they went to Tingley to retain Jan Vosburgh on the Bradenton Beach City Commission. Vosburgh defeated Michael Harrington in the race for the city’s Ward 4 commission seat, which until June was held by Bob Bartelt, now the […]

Incumbents returned to office in Holmes Beach

Voters turned out in Holmes Beach to again re-elect incumbents Sandy Haas-Martens and John Monetti to the city commission. First-time candidate Jean Peelen had challenged them for one of two open commission seats. Approximately 2,949 ballots were cast from among the 3,319 registered voters in Holmes Beach. Based on unofficial returns, Haas-Martens topped the voting […]

Two incumbents returned to WMFR, one newcomer voted in

Incumbent West Manatee Fire Commissioners Larry Tyler, Seat 3, and John Rigney, Seat 4, handily won their bids to keep their seats on the WMFR district commission board in the Nov. 2 general election. Both were challenged by first-time candidates, Tyler by Michael Carleton and Rigney by Mondher Kobrosly. Tyler won his seat 5,689 votes […]

Whitmore returned to county board

Veteran officeholder Carol Whitmore handily won her quest to serve another four-year term on the Manatee County Board of Commissioners. Whitmore, a Republican and resident of Holmes Beach, defeated Democrat Sundae Lynn Knight, a rookie campaigner, in the Nov. 2 race for the District 6 at-large seat. The unofficial vote, according to the Manatee County […]

Leading the way

Grand marshals Evan Christenson, left, and Lance Valadie, right, lead the AME costume parade on Gulf Drive to the school campus where carnival-style games awaited. Kids and their families met at the Anna Maria Island Chamber of Commerce for costume judging before parading with their classes to AME to kick off the festival.