Category Archives: 11-10-2010

Walk showcases Sunshine State beaches

Local groups such as Volunteer Manatee and the Bradenton Area Convention and Visitors Bureau joined Nov. 6 in a statewide campaign showcasing the Sunshine State’s shoreline. Participants in the Great Visit Florida Beach Walk were assigned to walk a mile of beach between sunrise and 11 a.m. Nov. 6, taking photographs along the way to […]

Midterm brings eager, early voters

Voters in the Nov. 2 election seemed eager to avoid midterm madness at Anna Maria Island polls, casting ballots early and absentee in strong numbers. The trend also was witnessed at the statewide level, with the state Division of Elections reporting that nearly 2.3 million voters cast ballots before the polls opened at 7 a.m. […]

Key races, at a glance

Anna Maria Mayor Sandy Mattick: 45.56 percent Michael Selby: 54.43 percent Bradenton Beach Ward 4 Commission Michael Harrington: 40 percent Janet Vosburgh: 60 percent Holmes Beach City Commission (vote for 2) Sandy Haas-Martens: 40.69 percent John Monetti: 38.08 percent Jean Peelen: 21.22 percent Manatee County Commission, District 6 Carol Whitmore: 68.85 percent Sundae Lynn Knight: […]

Selby is new Anna Maria mayor

Political newcomer Mike Selby was elected mayor of Anna Maria over opponent Sandy Mattick 509-426 on Nov. 2. The results were certified by the city’s canvassing board at the Manatee County Supervisor of Elections Office. Selby, along with unchallenged commissioners Chuck Webb and Jo Ann Mattick, was scheduled to be sworn into office at 5:30 […]

BB voters approve charter changes

The new year will bring changes to the Bradenton Beach Charter, most of them subtle revisions to the governing document for the city. One of the changes, however, will be in spirit with the marking the new year. The amendment, approved by voters Nov. 2 along with seven other charter proposals, requires the mayor to […]

Vosburgh wins BB Ward 4 race

Bradenton Beach voters went status quo — sort of — in the only city office up for election on the Nov. 2 ballot. Voters retained Janet Vosburgh for city commission in Ward 4, which runs from First Street North to the city’s southern boundary. Vosburgh was the incumbent in the race. However, she also was […]

Incumbents returned to HB offices

Voters turned out in Holmes Beach to re-elect incumbents Sandy Haas-Martens and John Monetti to the city commission. First-time candidate Jean Peelen challenged them for one of two open commission seats on the Nov. 2 ballot. The Manatee County Supervisor of Elections Office reported 2,949 ballots were cast from among the 3,319 registered voters in […]

2 incumbents, newcomer elected to fire board

Incumbent West Manatee Fire Rescue District Commissioners Larry Tyler, Seat 3, and John Rigney, Seat 4, won their bids to keep their seats on the in the Nov. 2 election. Tyler faced Michael Carleton and Rigney faced Mondher Kobrosly on the ballot. Tyler won his seat 5,689 votes to 4,350 votes. Rigney topped the WMFR […]

Resounding vote returns Whitmore to office

Veteran officeholder Carol Whitmore handily won her quest to serve another four-year term on the Manatee County Board of Commissioners. Whitmore, a Republican and resident of Holmes Beach, defeated Democrat Sundae Lynn Knight, a rookie campaigner, in the Nov. 2 race for the District 6 at-large seat. The Manatee County Supervisor of Elections Office reported […]