Story Tools

Date of Issue: January 28, 2009

Romine named law enforcement officer of the year

Holmes Beach Police Chief Jay Romine, center, accepts the Crime Stoppers Law Enforcement Officer of the Year award from Frank Brunner, left, and Steve Rowland.

Crime Stoppers of Manatee County named Holmes Beach Police Chief Jay Romine as its law enforcement officer of the year in a recent ceremony.

Crime Stoppers president Steve Rowland announced the award, crediting Romine for making sure Crime Stoppers stayed alive during financial hard times in the mid-1990s and with other achievements in the organization he helped found and on the job in Holmes Beach.

“After our program became a little more revived, he was instrumental in promoting and sharing the benefits of Crime Stoppers with other county law enforcement agencies, pursuing them to get back involved,” Rowland said. “Best of all, he is the reason I am a member since he was the person responsible for inviting me to attend a meeting and eventually join.”

Romine began his career with HBPD as a part-time patrol officer in 1979, advancing over the years to work as a patrol sergeant, detective sergeant, lieutenant, assistant chief and chief, the post he has held since July 1993.

A native of Manatee County, Romine graduated from Southeast High School, Manatee Community College, Auburn University and the University of South Florida.

He also has graduated from the FBI National Academy in Quantico, Va., and serves on the executive board of the Florida Police Chief Association, as well as chair of the Florida Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission.

“In his spare time, he found the time to become a founding member of Crime Stoppers of Manatee County,” Rowland said of Romine. “I think he would be the first to agree we’ve come a long way in the last 20-something years, since the days of meeting in the conference room at the Westside Barnett Bank at 43rd Street and Manatee Avenue.”

During Crime Stoppers’ annual banquet, members also elected officers: Rowland as president, Renee’ Stockwell as vice president, Glenna Campana as treasurer, Sue Ciccione as secretary and Jim Brand, Robert Burns and Linda McAbee as at-large directors.