Story Tools

Date of Issue: October 12, 2006

Island candidate forums Oct. 23

The Islander newspaper and the League of Women Voters are pleased to welcome candidates and the public in Anna Maria, Holmes Beach and District 6 of the Manatee County Board of County Commissioners to two candidate forums on Monday, Oct. 23.

In Anna Maria, the doors to city hall will open at 5:45 p.m. and the forum will start at 6 p.m. The forum is scheduled to end no later than 6:45 p.m.

The Holmes Beach candidate forum will begin at 7 p.m. Oct. 23 and city hall will open at 6:45 p.m. The forum will include the two candidates for the District 6 vacancy on the Manatee County Board of Commissioners.

Candidates will each be allowed two minutes for opening and closing remarks and questions will be directed by a panel from The Islander and League of Women Voters. Questions from the public will also be welcome.

Everyone is invited to attend. Candidates may distribute literature and “meet and greet” voters prior to the start of each forum.

The candidates are:

  • Anna Maria City Commission (two vacancies): Linda Cramer, Joann Mattick, Duke Miller.
  • Anna Maria Mayor: Fran Barford, Tom Turner.
  • Holmes Beach City Commission (two vacancies): Pat Geyer, Sandy Haas-Martens, Sheila Hurst Don Maloney and John Monetti.
  • Manatee County Board of County Commissioners District 6: Susan Meaker and Carol Whitmore.