Story Tools

Date of Issue: November 04, 2009

Decision day arrives

Voters in each Island city will cast ballots Tuesday, Nov. 3, in municipal elections.

In Anna Maria, voters will elect three people to two-year terms on the city commission. The field of five includes incumbents John Quam, Christine Tollette and Dale Woodland, as well as first-time candidates David Gryboski and Harry Stoltzfus.

In Bradenton Beach, William Shearon is challenging incumbent Michael Pierce for mayor, a repeat lineup from the city’s last mayoral race.

Bradenton Beach City Commissioner Janie Robertson faces no opposition in Ward 3, and newcomer Gay Breuler faces no opposition to succeed Commissioner John Shaughnessy in Ward 1.

In Holmes Beach, five people are vying for three two-year commission terms: incumbents Pat Geyer, Pat Morton and David Zaccagnino and challengers Andy Sheridan and Al Robinson.

The polls were scheduled to open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

For election results, visit and pick up the Nov. 11 issue of the newspaper.