Story Tools

Date of Issue: July 14, 2010

Anna Maria candidates to qualify

Qualifying for the municipal election in Anna Maria begins next week for the Nov. 2 general election.

Qualifying will take place from noon, Monday, July 19, to noon, Friday, July 30.

Two commission seats, both for two-year terms, are up for election, as is the mayoral post, also a two-year term.

Mayor Fran Barford has said she does not plan to seek re-election, but both incumbent commissioners Chuck Webb and Jo Ann Mattick do plan to run.

Candidates file qualifying papers with the Manatee County Supervisor of Elections, 600 301 Blvd. W., Suite 108. They can pick up candidate packets at either the supervisor’s office or city hall, 10005 Gulf Drive.

To qualify for elected office in Anna Maria, a person must be a U.S. citizen, a registered voter and resident of the city for at least two years.

Several documents must be submitted to qualify, including financial statements. Also, a candidate must pay an election assessment fee of $96 for mayor or $48 for commission and submit a petition signed by 10 registered Anna Maria voters.

Qualifying for nonpartisan posts in Bradenton Beach and Holmes Beach concluded June 18.

In Holmes Beach, three candidates — incumbents Sandy Haas-Martens and John Monetti and newcomer Jean Peelen — are vying for two commission seats. Mayor Rich Bohnenberger is unopposed for mayor.

In Bradenton Beach, incumbent Mayor Bob Bartelt is unopposed, as is Ed Straight in the election for Ward 2 commissioner. Incumbent Janet Vosburgh and Michael Harrington are running for Ward 4 commissioner.

The statewide primary will take place Aug. 24.

Voter registration for the primary closes July 26.

Details about becoming a candidate and other election information can be found at the supervisor of election’s website,