Story Tools

Date of Issue: April 28, 2005

Some of our mayors are missing

Photos of several mayors of Anna Maria and Bradenton Beach are being sought by the Anna Maria Island Historical Society. 

Andy Little said he has unearthed photos of many mayors of the past, but quite a few are missing. They are needed for display at the historical society's museum. He asks that anyone with pictures get in touch with the museum at 402 Pine Ave., Anna Maria, or call 778-0492.

Missing are these mayors of Anna Maria: Fred D. Havens, who served from 1926-32; Nettie B. Havens, 1932-33; Frank F. Spencer, 1935-36; Will B. Phillips, 1936-40; Sam Phillips Jr., 1940-41; R.E. Barrus, 1941-46; H.B. Miller, 1946-48; P.D. Wright, 1948-50; Nick J. Steinbeck, 1969.

From Bradenton Beach: Bernard Wagaman, 1951-52; E.R. Gorsuch, 1952-53.