Story Tools

Date of Issue: July 15, 2009

Qualifying for elections in August

Qualifying deadlines for elected offices in the three Island cities are coming up.

Qualifying deadlines are Sept. 1-Sept. 15 for Anna Maria and Bradenton Beach and Aug. 24-Aug. 28 for Holmes Beach.

Election day is Nov. 3.

In Anna Maria, voters will elect three city commissioners to two-year terms in seats currently held by John Quam, Christine Tollette and Dale Woodland.

In Bradenton Beach, voters will elect a mayor, a two-year post currently held by Michael Pierce. Voters also will elect a commissioner to a two-year term in Ward 1, the seat now held by John Shaughnessy, and a commissioner in Ward 3, the seat now held by Janie Robertson.

Pierce has said he will seek re-election, and so will Robertson. Shaughnessy cannot run again for commissioner because of a term limit in Bradenton Beach.

In Holmes Beach, three two-year city commission terms will be decided. The seats currently are held by Pat Geyer, Pat Morton and David Zaccagnino, who has said he will seek re-election.

For more information about becoming a candidate, go to