Story Tools

Date of Issue: September 15, 2005

Island candidates begin qualifying for November elections

Four people have picked up election qualifying packets in Anna Maria in the race for the three city commission seats up for election in November.

Incumbents John Quam and Dale Woodland have announced their intention to seek re-election, while Commissioner Carol Ann Magill has opted not to run for another term.

Political newcomers Joanne Mattick and Christine "Chris" Tollette have picked up election packets and Mattick has previously announced her intention to seek office. Tollette said she definitely plans to complete her packet and run for a commission seat.

In Holmes Beach, incumbents Don Maloney, Patrick Morton and Rich Bohnenberger have picked up a packet in addition to David Zaccagnino, who ran unsuccessfully for a commission seat in November 2004.

In Bradenton Beach, only Janie Robertson of Ward 3 had picked up a packet by press deadline on Sept. 13, while Mayor John Chappie and Commissioner John Shaugnessey have both indicated they plan to seek re-election.

The qualifying period in Bradenton Beach is from Sept. 19 to noon Sept. 23, while the qualifying period in Holmes Beach and Anna Maria ends at noon Sept. 20.