Story Tools

Date of Issue: September 22, 2005

Four for three in Anna Maria, Holmes Beach election

Four candidates in both Anna Maria and Holmes Beach will square off for the three city commission seats up for election in each city in the Nov. 8 elections, while in Bradenton Beach, only three people have qualified for the two commission seats and mayor's office up for election.

In Anna Maria, incumbents John Quam and Dale Woodland have qualified, as have political newcomers Joanne Mattick and Christine "Chris" Tollette. Incumbent Commissioner Carol Ann Magill is not seeking re-election.

Holmes Beach incumbents Don Maloney, Patrick Morton and Rich Bohnenberger have all qualified and will face a challenge from David Zaccagnino, who ran unsuccessfully for a commission seat in November 2004 and was in the process Monday of collecting the signatures of voters necessary to complete his qualifying package.

In Bradenton Beach, only Janie Robertson of Ward 3, incumbent City Commissioner John Shaughnessy of Ward I and Mayor John Chappie had qualified by noon yesterday.

The qualifying period in Bradenton Beach is from Sept. 19 to noon Sept. 23, while the qualifying period in Holmes Beach and Anna Maria ended at noon Sept. 20.

Island residents eligible to vote have until Tuesday, Oct. 11, to register with the Supervisor of Elections office at 305 15th St. W. in Bradenton.

Absentee voters may obtain ballots at the SOE office, or online at the SOE Web site at The deadline to submit an absentee ballot is 7 p.m. on election day, and all absentee ballots must be delivered to the SOE office in Bradenton. Polling stations are not allowed to accept absentee ballots. For more information on voting, go on the Internet to