Story Tools

Date of Issue: September 27, 2007

Holmes Beach incumbents face no opposition

Holmes Beach voters eager to cast ballots in an election contest will have to wait until the presidential preference primary in January.

The three incumbents seeking re-election to the Holmes Beach City Commission on Tuesday, Nov. 6, face no opposition. The deadline to qualify for the election passed Sept. 18.

The three incumbents - Pat Geyer, Pat Morton and David Zaccagnino - declared in late August their intent to seek re-election for their two-year terms.

Geyer, the owner of Duffy’s Tavern and a former mayor and commissioner, was appointed to the commission last November to serve out the remainder of Rich Bohnenberger’s term. Bohnenberger was elected mayor last year.

Zaccagnino, who works for Morgan Stanley as a financial advisor, will be elected to a second term on the city commission.

Morton, the campus manager for Crosspointe Fellowship in Holmes Beach, will be serving a third term.

The mayor congratulated the incumbents during a city commission meeting Sept. 18. “Congratulations to our commissioners who didn’t have to go through the election process,” Bohnenberger said. “I look forward to working with you in the next year.”

During last week’s meeting, the commissioners adopted a city budget for the 2007-08 fiscal year that includes salary increases to $500 a month for newly elected commissioners, beginning with the November election.

In November 2008, a newly elected mayor and two newly elected commissioners will see salary increases - $800 for the mayor and $500 for commissioners.

The 2008 election promises more activity for Holmes Beach voters. Offices up for election include the presidency, all U.S. House and Florida House seats, the 12th Judicial Circuit Court state attorney and public defenders, and county and municipal seats.

Florida’s presidential preference primary will take place Jan. 29, 2008. The 2008 primary will be Aug. 26 and the general election will take place Nov. 4.

For more information about elections in Manatee County, go to