Story Tools

Date of Issue: September 08, 2006

Whitmore takes Republican slot for county commission

Holmes Beach Mayor Carol Whitmore has taken the Republican side of the Manatee County Commission District 6 at-large on the November ballot in Tuesday’s primary voting by a wide margin.

All results posted are unofficial, according to the supervisor of elections.

Whitmore garnered 47 percent of the vote in the four-way race. Other results include former school board member Frank Brunner with 32 percent, physician Craig A. Trigueiro with 17 percent, and businesswoman Stella K. Burnett with 4 percent.

Whitmore will face Democrat Sarah C. Meaker in November.

Unofficial statewide numbers have Katherine Harris taking the lead in the Republican race for the U.S. Senate. She received 50 percent of the votes from voters, and will face Democrat Sen. Bill Nelson in the fall.

Other results in that race included William “Bill” McBride with 30 percent, LeRoy Collins Jr. with 15 percent, and Pete Monroe with 5 percent.

For the hotly contested U.S. House of Representatives District 13 contest, Republicans elected Sarasota businessman Vern Buchanon. He received 33 percent of the votes in the four-county election. State representative Nancy Carroll Detert received 25 percent of the vote, Sarasota banker Tramm Hudson 23 percent, former state representative Mark Flanagan 10 percent, and Florida House of Representatives member Donna Clarke 9 percent.

Democratic candidate for District 13 Christine Jennings will face Buchanon in November. She received 62 percent of the vote to defeat her opponent, attorney Jan Schneider, who garnered 38 percent.

For governor, Republican Charlie Crist will face Democrat Jim Davis in the fall. Crist received 64 percent of the vote Sept. 5. Other candidates in the Republican match-up were Tom Gallagher with 34 percent; Vernon Palmer, 1 percent; and Michael W. St. Jean, 1 percent.

On the Democratic side, Davis received 46 percent; Rod Smith, 42 percent; Carol Castagnero, 5 percent; Glenn Burkett, 4 percent; and John M. Crotty, 3 percent.

In the statewide chief financial officer election, Florida Senate President Tom Lee received 56 percent of the Republican votes, defeating challengers Randy Johnson at 37 percent and Milt Bauguess at 6 percent. Lee will face Alex Sink in November.

The attorney general matchup on the Democratic side saw Walter “Skip” Campbell defeat Merrice Ehrlich, 65 percent versus 35 percent.

In local non-partisan elections, for 12th Circuit Court Judge, Group 13, incumbent Lee Haworth defeated challenger Susan Hartmann Swartz, 67 percent to 33 percent.

For 12th Circuit Court Judge, Group 16, voters chose Donna Berlin over Franklin Roberts, 79 percent versus 21 percent.

For 12th Circuit Court Judge, Group 21, voters selected Preson DeVilbiss Jr. with 39 percent of the vote. Other challengers were Rochelle Taylor Curley at 28 percent; Connie Mederos-Jacobs at 19 percent; and Geoffrey Proffitt at 13 percent. 

In the non-partisan school board races, District 1 had incumbent Barbara A. Harvey defeating businessman David M. Bailey, 63 percent versus 37 percent.

District 3 saw Manatee Community College professor Jane R. Pfeisticker taking the post with 52 percent of the vote. Real estate professional Robert Drane received 26 percent, and Steven A. Cecil had 22 percent.

In District 4, businessman Joe Miller won the matchup with 49 percent of the vote. Land use planner and landscape architect Bob Gause received 28 percent, and James Ferguson received 23 percent.

District 5 incumbent Walter E. Miller won re-election over civil designer Maynard Boyce, 71 percent versus 28 percent.