Story Tools

Date of Issue: August 27, 2010

Primary Tuesday: School races, party nominations decided

Island voters headed to the polls Aug. 24, to mark ballots for school board candidates in three races, as well as join other Floridians in nominating candidates in county, state and federal races.

School board decided

In the District 3 race for the Manatee County school board, incumbent Jane Pfeilsticker and Julie B. Aranibar are headed for a run-off Nov. 2. The two each received about 41 percent of the vote in a race too close to call. Albert G. Yusko, receiving about 18 percent, is out of the race

In the District 5 school board race, Karen Carpenter defeated Jennifer Radebach in a race with a four-point spread — Carpenter had 52 percent to Radebach’s 48 percent.

In the District 1 race, incumbent Barbara A. Harvey held her seat in a race against David M. Bailey. Harvey received 53 percent of the vote.

School board members — there are five total — are elected countywide, but each is assigned to represent schools in a specific geographic area. Board member Bob Gause, whose term is up in 2012, represents District 4, which includes Anna Maria Elementary School.

County commission nominations

In the primary upset, Michael Gallen defeated incumbent Gwen Brown in the District 2 Democratic race for the Manatee County Board of Commissioners.

Gallen, a newcomer to politics, received 56 percent of the vote; Brown, 44 percent. With no November opponent, he is the county commissioner elect.

In the District 4 race for the Republican nomination, Robin DiSabatino received 36 percent of the vote, defeating Norm Luppino at 33 percent and Tim Norwood at 31 percent.

Other results

On the Democratic ballot, voters nominated Kendrick B. Meek for U.S. senator. He defeated Glenn A. Burkett, Maurice A. Ferre and Jeff Greene.

For U.S. representative in the 13th Congressional District, Democratic voters chose between Rick Eaton and James T. Golden. They nominated Golden, who received 57 percent of the vote.

For governor, the Democratic nominee is Alex Sink over Briane P. Moore.

For Florida attorney general, Dan Gelber received 59 percent of the vote to defeat Dave Aronberg.

Voters who took Republican ballots nominated Marco Rubio for U.S. senator over William Escoffery III and William Billy Kogut.

For U.S. representative, Republican voters nominated incumbent Vern Buchanan over Don Baldauf. Buchanan received 83 percent of the vote.

In the GOP gubernatorial primary, Mike McCalister and Bill McCollum lost to Rick Scott, who collected 46 percent of the vote, with 96 percent of precincts reporting.

For Florida attorney general, Pam Bondi got the GOP nomination, defeating Holly Benson and Jeff Kottkamp.

Polls were open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in much of the state, including Manatee County.

On the Island, voters cast ballots at Roser Memorial Community Church in Anna Maria, St. Bernard Catholic and Gloria Dei Lutheran churches in Holmes Beach and Tingley Memorial Library in Bradenton Beach.

Election judges described the balloting as slow, but not unexpected since turnout is typically low for local primaries. Voter turnout in the county was 24 percent — 48,843 of the county’s 202,436 registered voters.

The general election, which includes the non-partisan races for Island cities, will take place Nov. 2.

For more election coverage, see the Sept. 1 issue of The Islander.