Anna Maria commissioners plan for new year

thumb image
Commissioner Carol Carter Nov. 16 is sworn into a new two-year term as Anna Maria city commissioner by city clerk LeAnne Addy. Islander Photos: Bianca Benedí
Commissioner Dale Woodland smiles and shakes LeAnne Addy's hand Nov. 16 after being sworn into a new two-year term on the commission.
Commissioner Doug Copeland raises his right hand Nov. 16 as city clerk LeAnne Addy swears him in for another two-year term.

After voters elected to keep the Anna Maria City Commission intact, commissioners voted Nov. 16 to keep most of their commission assignments and responsibilities intact.

Commissioners unanimously voted for Doug Copeland to continue to serve as chair. Commissioner Nancy Yetter passed the vice-chair baton to Commissioner Carol Carter, who received the most votes out of four candidates Nov. 7.

Commissioners also voted to continue their assignments and liaisons.

Copeland will continue to serve as liaison to the Manatee County Tourist Development Council.

Carter will continue serving as liaison to the Anna Maria Island Historical Society and ManaSota League of Cities.

Commissioner Brian Seymour will continue to represent Anna Maria with the Anna Maria Island Chamber of Commerce.

Woodland will continue to represent the Anna Maria City Pier.

Yetter will continue with the Center of Anna Maria Island and Island Players.

Carter, Copeland and Woodland were sworn to serve two-year terms Nov. 16. Carter and Copeland have served on the commission since 2014.

Woodland has served for seven terms.

Commissioners receive a $400 monthly stipend.

The next city commission meeting will be at 6 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 30, at city hall, 10005 Gulf Drive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *