Candidate qualifying opens for Anna Maria election

Three Anna Maria offices are up for election Nov. 6 — two commission seats and the mayoral post.

Qualifying began June 11, as The Islander went to press.

Mayor Dan Murphy said May 10 he would seek a third consecutive two-year term.

Murphy was first elected mayor in 2014, when he defeated incumbent Mayor SueLynn with 57 percent of the vote. He was unopposed in 2016.

Commissioner Amy Tripp confirmed June 6 she will run to retain her seat. Tripp was appointed by commissioners in February to fill the remainder of Commissioner Nancy Yetter’s term, after Yetter resigned mid term and moved to Tampa.

Commissioner Brian Seymour said June 6 he is “leaning toward” running for another term. He was elected in November 2016.

Qualifying for candidates opened at noon June 11 and continues through Friday, June 22.

To qualify, candidates must be U.S. citizens, Manatee County registered voters and two-year residents of Anna Maria.

Candidates must file qualification forms with the Manatee County Supervisor of Elections Office, name a campaign treasurer, establish a statement of candidacy, as well as provide a candidate oath, residency affidavit, statement of financial interests and a petition containing the signatures of 10 registered city voters.

Candidates additionally are required to pay an election assessment fee — $196 for the mayor’s seat and $48 to run for a commission seat — or file an oath of undue burden.

The mayor earns $19,400 annually and commissioners are paid $4,800 a year.

Anna Maria had 1,110 active voters as of April, according to the SOE. The last day to register to vote in the Nov. 6 general election will be Oct. 9.

For more information, visit the SOE website at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *