Anna Maria incumbents retain seats

Anna Maria voters won’t need to worry about their choices on the ballot in the city election heading into Election Day Nov. 6.

Three seats were up for grabs — two commission seats and the mayoral post — but no new candidates qualified to run by the June 22 deadline, leaving the incumbents unchallenged.

Mayor Dan Murphy, Commissioner Brian Seymour and Commissioner Amy Tripp automatically retain their seats for another two-year term.

Murphy will begin his third term as mayor in November.

Seymour will enter his second term as city commissioner.

Tripp will serve her first full two-year term after the swearing-in of officials in November. She was appointed by the commission in February to complete the remainder of Commissioner Nancy Yetter’s term.

The mayor earns a $19,400 annual salary, while commissioners are paid $4,800 a year. The election assessment fee was $196 for the mayor’s seat and $48 for a commission seat.

Anna Maria had 1,111 active voters prior to qualifying in May 2018, according to the Manatee County Supervisor of Elections Office.

        Voters in Anna Maria will cast ballots on Election Day at Roser Memorial Community Church, 512 Pine Ave., Anna Maria. Polling will be 7 a.m.-7 p.m.

— Ryan Paice