Mayor, 2 commission seats up in Anna Maria

Voters in Anna Maria will elect a mayor and two city commissioners this year.

The nonpartisan election will be Tuesday, Nov. 6.

The mayoral post is a two-year term. The incumbent is Dan Murphy.

The commission seats also are two-year terms. The incumbents are Brian Seymour and Amy Tripp.

Qualifying for the municipal election will be noon Monday, June 11, through noon Friday, June 22, at the Manatee County Supervisor of Elections Office, 600 301 Blvd., Bradenton.

To qualify to seek elected office in Anna Maria, people must be U.S. citizens, registered to vote in Manatee County and residents of Anna Maria for at least two years prior to the qualifying date.

Candidates must file a form appointing a campaign treasurer and a statement of candidacy before opening a bank account or accepting or spending political money.

To qualify, candidates also must file a candidate oath, residency affidavit, a statement of financial interests and a petition containing the signatures of 10 city voters. They also must pay an election assessment fee — $196 to run for mayor and $48 to run for commission — or file an “undue burden” oath.

The mayoral salary is $19,600 a year. The commissioner salary is $4,800 a year.

For more information about elections, go online to the supervisor of elections at

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *