No race in Anna Maria; incumbents retain seats

The Anna Maria city election was over before it began.

With the clock ticking up to the candidate qualification deadline at noon June 22, the incumbents are now able to breathe a sigh of relief.

All three incumbents qualified and, without challengers, they each automatically retain their seat for another two-year term.

Mayor Dan Murphy will begin his third term as mayor in November.

Commissioner Brian Seymour is set for a second term.

Commissioner Amy Tripp was appointed by commissioners in February to complete the remainder of Commissioner Nancy Yetter’s term. She will begin a full two-year term after the swearing-in of officials in November.

The mayor is compensated $19,400 a year, while commissioners receive an annual stipend of $4,800. The election assessment fee was $196 for the mayor’s seat and $48 for a commission seat.

Anna Maria had 1,111 active voters in May 2018, only one more than April, according to the Manatee County Supervisor of Elections Office.

The deadline to register to vote in the Nov. 6 midterm election is Oct. 9.

For more information, visit the SOE website at

— Ryan Paice